Installation, updates, general problem solving and assistance.
User avatar
techtalk.cc
100%
Posts: 1391
Joined: 2014-02-27 07:51
Contact:

2021-04-19 08:34 »

yntzl wrote:
2021-04-19 03:24
...
Stop using external sources! Imgur :sick: ...you can attach files here in the posts. We have upload function. :idea:

User avatar
!
30%
Posts: 3079
Joined: 2013-02-25 18:36

2021-04-19 08:36 »

PROBLEMCHYLD wrote:
2021-04-19 06:34
People on YouTube even said older versions does this, so I'm going to assume its hardware related. There is no way I can debug this because I've never had this issue on regular hardware or qemu vm.
That was my guess too. :razz: :mrgreen:

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-19 09:36 »

It could be a driver from older hardware that's causing it. I remember back in the day McAfee would crash when ever I installed MDGx 98SE2ME. My only option was remove McAfee or don't use 98SE2ME. There was no happy medium :mad:

User avatar
yntzl
0%
Posts: 2
Joined: 2021-04-19 03:18

2021-04-19 12:50 »

techtalk.cc wrote:
2021-04-19 08:34
yntzl wrote:
2021-04-19 03:24
...
Stop using external sources! Imgur :sick: ...you can attach files here in the posts. We have upload function. :idea:
I'm new here, sorry.

dtm2138
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-04-13 10:15

2021-04-19 23:59 »

First of all thank you ProblemChyld for producing such an excellent service pack for an Operating System that, IMHO is still very usable today.

I am also having problems with installing the service pack on a vanilla Windows 98se install running under VMWare on a Windows 7 host.

I have compared some of the install scripts, ( 3.66 v 3.65 ) and some of the commands which ran previously under a batch file have been migrated to run under an inf. Specifically it's the extraction of the certificate files which are then installed. If I remove those lines from the spupdate.inf ( or whatever it is ) the install proceeds.

Second problem: The OS complains that "enable.vxd" is missing. I have extracted all the files from VMM32.VXD and indeed it's not there. I don't know whether this file is dynamically built by the OS on installation, but I have attached my copy here for convenience. it is zipped using the latest version of 7zip (21.01 I think)

After an indeterminate time moving the mouse causes the speaker (wtf) to emit high frequency noises) - I do not have any idea why this is, but could it be related to the above problem???

If you want any help sorting this second prob, please let me know.
Attachments
ENABLE.zip
(10.66 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 00:39 »

I haven't tried it on VMWare or Virtual box only qemu. Thanks for the feedback. I suppose people using different VMs will have issues. I understand about changing the inf and batch scripts, it was the only way to get the SP3 to install without errors in qemu. So it works in qemu but is broken in VMware and probably Virtual box as well.

dtm2138
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-04-13 10:15

2021-04-20 00:54 »

Thanks for replying so quickly - I've just downloaded qemu I'll take a look. I guess you could fix the issues by saying that 3.66 is for qemu only lol.

I'll have a play around at getting the SP to work on VMware if you want. Just thinking off the top of my head, you can install what's known as VMware tools (even in 98!). The tools give you access to a proper SVGA driver & mouse drivers and stuff. Normally they reside in Program Files\VMware Tools\ so I guess that would be a way of checking whether it's installed on qemu or VMware, but it wouldn't be 100% foolproof.

VMware also provides a snapshot capability too.

I'll install qemu and have a play around.

Thanks!

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 01:49 »

It works well on regular hardware too at least on mines. If I change the scripts back then qemu will break but VMware and virtual box will work. A hell of a dilemma.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 01:51 »

The scripts do work on real hardware as it should. I just don't see myself creating 3 versions base off VMs

dtm2138
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-04-13 10:15

2021-04-20 01:58 »

Well IMHO the best thing to do is to cater for the solution that _you_ want to and that's that. I have now installed qemu, and am just about to try and create a win98se virtual machine. I liked running it under VMware because with the tools, I could max out the resolution with tons of colours and 98se looks great. I dare say if I dig around enough I'll be able to find video drivers and so on. I can also live with a bit of manual file editing to get it running in VMware if you don't mind that is.

Post Reply