Installation, updates, general problem solving and assistance.
User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 02:00 »

Awaiting your feedback on the qemu install.

dtm2138
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-04-13 10:15

2021-04-20 02:18 »

Didn't realize that qemu emulated at the time cpu speed. I can install 98se in 2 mins on VMware. My feed back will take some time....

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 03:20 »

No rush, take your time and be thorough.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 13:05 »

It's crazy how a command moved from an .inf file to a batch file can cause issues with different types of VMs.

The only solutions are

1. Everybody use qemu

2. I create 3 packages for each VM and or maybe more because of other VM like Microsoft etc...

3. Ignore the problems people having because they were ungrateful bastards anyway.

User avatar
!
30%
Posts: 3079
Joined: 2013-02-25 18:36

2021-04-20 16:43 »

Suggestion 4: Can it detect what VM is runs on? and activate different stuff for different VMs?

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-20 17:44 »

Shit, IDK possibly??? If we can do it, who the fuck going to put in the leg work? I've done my due diligence.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-21 08:24 »

The thing is, if you install SP3 on real hardware besides the winoldap which I can kill with a command everything works. All of the scripts and batch files, inf files etc... will have to be tailored specifically for each VM. That's a lot of work. I would need to have 3 versions unless everyone uses the same VM, which I highly doubt. Now I understand why so many people have issues at vogon, everyone is using different VMs and getting different results.

Thank you dtm2138 for bringing this flaw to my attention. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Steven W
VIP
Posts: 2199
Joined: 2013-08-10 22:40

2021-04-23 06:46 »

PROBLEMCHYLD wrote:
2021-04-21 08:24
The thing is, if you install SP3 on real hardware besides the winoldap which I can kill with a command everything works. All of the scripts and batch files, inf files etc... will have to be tailored specifically for each VM. That's a lot of work. I would need to have 3 versions unless everyone uses the same VM, which I highly doubt. Now I understand why so many people have issues at vogon, everyone is using different VMs and getting different results.

Thank you dtm2138 for bringing this flaw to my attention. :thumbup: :thumbup:
Do you know what causes winoldap to run?

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-23 17:18 »


User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-23 23:44 »

1.jpg
1.jpg (126.95 KiB) Viewed 823 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (230.85 KiB) Viewed 823 times

Post Reply