Installation, updates, general problem solving and assistance.
Steven W
VIP
Posts: 2199
Joined: 2013-08-10 22:40

2021-04-24 00:51 »

When running the Main Updates are any MS-DOS based (not batch files or anything like that) or Win16 files ran?

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-24 00:54 »

Both batch and inf are ran in Main Updates. Each one has it limitations is why both are need as well with other options.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-24 01:00 »

The launcher for the chm file

Steven W
VIP
Posts: 2199
Joined: 2013-08-10 22:40

2021-04-24 01:16 »

Can that be fired up on its own somehow, if the SP were extracted?

Steven W
VIP
Posts: 2199
Joined: 2013-08-10 22:40

2021-04-24 01:43 »

That being the issue might make sense. My experience is it (Winoldap running) only happens the first time the SP is ran. Replace the CHM help thing with a simple VB exe would not be difficult. A simple window showing text (VB easily does RTF) and a close button would not be difficult to write.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-24 01:48 »

Someone created the launcher and its tied to infex.exe, it will break the installer.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-24 01:52 »

I don't think its that because I don't have winoldap loaded on my computer or it doesn't conflict with SP whether it be real hardware or vm. People can manually kill the task or if I remeber who made it can add the command kill winoldap. If I had this issue I would have rectified it a long time ago. I'm not sure how to approach because I can't test scenarios.

Steven W
VIP
Posts: 2199
Joined: 2013-08-10 22:40

2021-04-24 01:58 »

Understood, when I have time, I'll poke around with it. I get it, figure out what's triggering Winoldap and try to find a workaround.

Steven W
VIP
Posts: 2199
Joined: 2013-08-10 22:40

2021-04-24 02:12 »

I can't be 100 percent sure at the moment, but it seems to me that, on real hardware at least, it seems to manifest more on older hardware PIII and lower.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 971
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2021-04-24 02:15 »

Now the vbs script will come in handy with trying to detect with VMs. Its so many VMs software we'll be working our asses off try to please every single user. So far, 3.65 works with VMware and not others and 3.66 works with qemu and not others. I have already started the process for 3.67. Maybe we can find the right combination for VMs because I really don't want to install 10 different VMs on my computer and configure them etc... Then its the versions of VMs, not everyone is going to be using the same build which will bring more issues.

Post Reply