Installation, updates, general problem solving and assistance.
User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 628
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2018-07-09 11:40 »

If you guys are NOT using 98lite to remove IE, then you don't need to install the IE Core files. Install IE 5.5 SP2 or IE 6.0 SP1.
REBOOT SYSTEM!!!!! Install Main Updates in SP3... That's it that's all....

User avatar
rob8086
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-07-05 18:19

2018-07-09 20:57 »

I did not install anything IE-related separately, just the SP3 core files package.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 628
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2018-07-10 23:02 »

Thanks, give me some time to look into it. Appreciate your patience. Did you reboot after installation?

User avatar
rob8086
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-07-05 18:19

2018-07-16 02:18 »

Yep. Repeated the process on two different vanilla 98 builds with the same results.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 628
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2018-07-17 11:07 »

Install IE 5.5 SP2 or IE6 SP1, then install Main Updates and report back here please.

User avatar
rob8086
0%
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-07-05 18:19

2018-07-19 20:23 »

Installed IE6SP1, rebooted. Installed core updates, rebooted. And... we're looking good!

Is IE6SP1 on the SP3 installer anywhere, or is it necessary to download it from elsewhere? I grabbed it from archive.org but is there a better place?

kytrid

2018-09-03 19:21 »

Hi,

I'm building a Win98 system on an old HP t5570e Thin Client. It has a 2gb so-dimm in it, so I'm having the >512mb ram problem. I've managed to get W98SE installed to the 4gb USB HDD successfully (using a utility called E2B - Easy2Boot), but it hangs on first startup with the memory error. Using E2B, I can get the system running at a DOS prompt, so that I can see the root directory that contains the W98 OS.

I tried the system.ini (vcache) changes that seem to work for some people, but it did not solve my problem.

The U98SP won't run from a DOS prompt, unfortunately, so I can't install the memory fix by expanding the U98SP.exe file there. This leads me to two questions: 1. what is the name of the file inside the Service Pack that fixes the excess memory problem (so I can extract it with 7z on a working machine), and 2. Can I run that file from DOS mode on the thin client to fix the issue?

If I can't use the memory patch from DOS prompt, does anyone have an idea of what I might do?

Thanks in advance for any help you are able to offer!

~K

P.S. I looked for a file listing so that I could try it on my own, but I must have missed it somehow, if there is one.

User avatar
PROBLEMCHYLD
VIP
Posts: 628
Joined: 2013-03-22 12:55

2018-09-04 20:17 »

vcache.vxd.

I did get your PM and sorry, but been really busy lately.

kytrid

2018-09-04 23:34 »

No prob. RL happens.

When I open U98SESP3.EXE with 7z, I don't see the vcache.vxd file. Am I missing something?


Post Reply