Installation, updates, general problem solving and assistance.
User avatar
TmEE
VIP
Posts: 229
Joined: 2013-08-09 16:52
Contact:

2013-08-12 11:57 »

The board works flawlessy, there's some settings in the BIOS that needs to be just right for good operation (ACPI set to v1.0 and Memory remapping disabled).
I had to write an utility to enable the ISA slot which is the reason I bought the board in the first place. That slot does NOT work as is.

It is my main use machine right now, ever since my BC875PLG suddenly died.
http://www.tmeeco.eu/BitShit/NewMoboSetUpFinally.jpg

NewMoboSetUpFinally.jpg
NewMoboSetUpFinally.jpg (635.65 KiB) Viewed 3361 times

User avatar
Fool's design
3%
Posts: 315
Joined: 2013-02-14 10:11

2013-08-12 14:56 »

@TmEE,

You can attach unlimited number of files in each post so in case you have pictures, please do attach them because external links tend to die. Especially if you post hardware porn like that one. We like to see those.
:mrgreen:

User avatar
!
25%
Posts: 2539
Joined: 2013-02-25 18:36

2013-08-12 15:01 »

@TmEE,

One small problem with your two rar-files. This file is broken inside them. Could you tell me where to get it from?

error.png
error.png (36.08 KiB) Viewed 3442 times

User avatar
TmEE
VIP
Posts: 229
Joined: 2013-08-09 16:52
Contact:

2013-08-12 15:42 »

I'll attach files in future. I just happen to have lot of files on my server and I am used to directly link to them.

As for the broken file, that one actually came from this thread some posts ago. Why the file is reported broken I don't quite know, you also use 7zip to extract them instead of RAR (I know I have had problems with the other way operation). In any case the file is not lost.... but a RAM stick or such in my server may be... the joys of old hardware :P

User avatar
!
25%
Posts: 2539
Joined: 2013-02-25 18:36

2013-08-12 16:06 »

Ah yeah, joys of hardware really. Some months ago, I built a new system, a Core i7 3820 3.6GHz with 32GB of RAM. I kept getting BSOD (blue screen of death) and it turned out one of my RAM chips were faulty. Now, I did not know which one so I tossed the entire 32GB out and bought a new set of 32GB. YES, I WASTED A LOT OF MONEY. haha... but in times of panic, things get a little crazy. The PC HAD to work or I couldn't get work done. hehehhe :lol:

User avatar
EMPTORXC
0%
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-07-11 23:32

2013-08-12 17:59 »

@ TmEE, [ISA]"That slot does NOT work as is" . Yeah;
for ICH5 and below, ISA can and should work OK.
For ICH6 and up, the ICH itself no longer has all the necessary hardware
functionality built-in for ISA; so e.g. a PCI-to-ISA bridge (chip)
can't intrinsically support ISA DMA & ISA Bus Master transactioning.
If using instead a LPC-TO-ISA bridge (chip) then DMA maybe available
via 'LPC DMA compatible function', & (depending on LPC chip) maybe/maybe
not ISA Bus mastering, maybe/maybe not ISA memory mapped transactions.
That's as I understand it from Intel's short overview of it here;
http://www.intel.com/assets/pdf/whitepaper/318244.pdf
and a quick look at some of the bridge chip makers pdf's.
MMmmmmmm..., your motherboard manual states for the FINTEK F85226FG
LPC-to-ISA chip "By conditions; fully ISA bridge support except bus
master and DMA function", but the FINTEK F85226FG datasheet states;
http://pdf1.alldatasheet.net/datasheet- ... 226FG.html
"Fully ISA bridge support except bus master by conditions" and the pdf
version history shows that sentence was inserted (because)'revised features'
- possibly the DMA functionality was always there, just a typo occured? Cheers

User avatar
TmEE
VIP
Posts: 229
Joined: 2013-08-09 16:52
Contact:

2013-08-12 18:03 »

The board has fully working ISA slot but not in the default condition. The LPC bus only sees accesses that are specifically forwarded to it so I wrote an utility that sets up the ICH7 LPC IO ranges aswell as the LPC to ISA bridge chip.
DMA, IRQs etc all work flawlessly, only problem is that it is a 3.3V slot and some cards will not play nice in it as they expect 5V from the signal lines. Bus mastering does not work but I do not know any ISA card that actually takes over the machine to poke data directly into the machines memory space. DMA is not bus mastering, and yes the manual is wrong about not supporting DMA.

The board does not come with any utilites to set up the ISA slot for use, so they basically sold you a dud... luckily I know my way around hardware and software :P
I'll make the setup utility available at a later date, there's some stuff I got to sort out first.

This should really be in that empty hardware subforum :P

Drugwash

2013-08-16 10:32 »

TeDDy wrote:Drugwash, You are a saviour. Thank you. My torrent download is still pending, with no future of finishing soon.
Is there an automated method available for drivers install (like dpinst.exe for w2k/XP)? I mean, install all not detected drivers?
A script/bash/program to trigger hal detection? Everything to avoid click+update driver...

Thank you in advance

You're welcome!
Sorry for late reply, I always forget to check back in when there's no mail notifications of replies. :oops:

As far as I know, these packs are just self-extracting archives with no autorun or any installation script. Of course, such script could be done but it would take some time to do it right, time that I currently do not have, sadly. :(

@ TmEE: Are those packs of yours still available? Have you checked for that error reported somewhere above? And do they accept Resume so I could use FlashGet? I might wanna grab them, but I'm on limited bandwidth now, only ~14kB/s just like old modems, so it might take a very long time.

User avatar
TmEE
VIP
Posts: 229
Joined: 2013-08-09 16:52
Contact:

2013-08-16 12:09 »

I really don't know if my server software supports resumable downloads or has any time limits on the files.
All the files are available individually in the http://www.tmeeco.eu/9X4EVER/GOODIES
Thunder season is over and I got no reason to turn off the server, so uptime should permit days long download sessions.

Drugwash

2013-08-17 12:01 »

Thank you. I've already started a WinHTTrack session to mirror your server locally, since FlashGet can't deal with folder structure in HTTP - doesn't even do it right in FTP. On this occasion I noticed many files have unusually small sizes compared to what they should be (in my opinion).

For example, win2kddk.exe, win98ddk.exe, RP967.EXE, RP971.EXE and others, most obvious of them being AutoPatcher98.Dec07_FULL_Final.exe which should have 300,373,004 bytes and is only 80,869,456 bytes (as downloaded on my HDD by WinHTTrack) as well as AutoPatcher98.Dec08_UPGRADE.exe which is only 8,650,184 bytes as opposed to 47,558,413 bytes as my old copy is.

I haven't seen any timeout or retry failed errors in the log, but at the same time the file sizes reported by your server seem correct, so I suppose there could be a bug in WinHTTrack or some other HTTP-related issue. Strange thing is other files were downloaded properly, CRC check succeeds on them.

I have also tried on a small file seconds ago (RP967.EXE reported broken above) and FlashGet shows it supports 'Resume' so they all probably support it as well. And FlashGet downloaded the file correctly, no corruption.

Weird thing! I'll keep digging, because this might be indication that I have screwed up other previous mirrors and that would be a disaster. :(

Post Reply